Sibelius & Rachmaninov


325 kr
Price including service fee.
Show all prices

Beautiful, seductive and dizzying, sums up the evening's concert. Welcome.

Jean Sibelius's Fourth Symphony in A minor is one of his most melancholic. The piece is permeated by a recurring tritone interval – the combination of notes that has been associated with the devil since the Middle Ages. The insanely beautiful music warps, chafes – and seduces.

Sergej Rachmaninov's Third Piano Concerto, which takes its point of departure in Russian Orthodox liturgical music, is also seductive. The concert was first performed in 1909 with the composer himself at the grand piano.

And then we meet Grażyna Bacewicz's dizzying Concerto for String Orchestra, which when it was first performed in 1950 was compared to Bach's Brandenburg Concertos.


Wille Matvejeff, conductor
Olli Mustonen, piano
Norrland Opera's Symphony Orchestra


Grazyna Bacewicz: Concerto for string orchestra (1948), 15 min
Jean Sibelius: Symphony no. 4 in A minor, 35 min
Break, 30 min
Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto no. 3 in D minor, 40 min


Book tickets for the subscription with the season's four classical concerts by clicking here!

If you wish to book a ticket only for the concert Sibelius & Rachmaninov, click on the BOOK button below.


Good to know before your visit:

Age limit: none.
Cloakroom: located adjacent to the stage for the event. The cloakroom fee is included in your ticket.
Admission: approx. 30 minutes before the event starts.
Eating: Food and drink are not allowed to be brought into our stages.
Hearing aids: available in all our scenes, read more here.
Note that the concert is not microphone-enhanced, but that hearing aids work as usual during introductions and speeches.
Walker: placed outside the entrance, staff on site are available if you need help.
Lift: located at stairwell B, left side.
Wheelchair spaces: All wheelchair spaces are accessible via elevator, stairwell B, left side. Please respect that wheelchair spaces are intended for wheelchair users. In case of violation, the ticket will be declared invalid on the spot and entry to the event will be denied. Tickets cannot be repurchased in the event of an incorrect purchase.


Craving for a lovely mingling before the concert?

Before the concert, The Wood Hotel by Elite serves drinks and light snacks in the Södra foyer.
Serving opens 45 minutes before the concert begins.



Does your heart beat a little extra for classical music?

Then you have the opportunity to sign a concert subscription at Sara cultural center. With a concert subscription, you get four concerts where you get to hear Norrlandsoperan's symphony orchestra play both classical and newly written pieces together with invited soloists and conductors, all at a discounted price!

Read more about our subscription

Book online
08Dec 19:00 - 21:00 Stage 1, Sara kulturhus

Contact information

Kanalgatan 43B
93131 Skellefteå
Phone: +46-910736000

Organizer: Sara kulturhus och Norrlandsoperan

E-mail: biljettinformation@sarakult...

Price information

Subscription - 4 classical concerts: SEK 780
With the subscription you get a 40% discount on the regular price of the concerts. The price is valid until September 1 at 19.00.

Concert ticket: SEK 325


Tickets are sold at Skellefteå Tourist Center and on the organizer's official booking page.

For ticket purchases via Skellefteå Turistcenter, an extra service fee is added to tickets.

For more information about tickets tel. + 46 (0)910-452510 or

ATTENTION! There is no reservation of tickets, only direct purchase.


Age limit: none

Duration: 2 hours, incl. 30 minutes break.

More from Stage 1, Sara kulturhus